The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA), officially founded in April 14th, 1837, is the first University not only of Greece but both the Balkan peninsula and the Eastern Mediterranean region. NKUA is the largest state institution of higher learning in Greece, and among the largest universities in Europe. With a student body of about 80,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students, over 2.000 members of academic staff and approximately 1.300 administrative and secretarial staff and specialised personnel, the University of Athens aims at excellence in both teaching and research in a significantly varied range of disciplines. The Faculties and their respective Departments, functioning within the 8 larger academic units entitled Schools, as well as a number of independent Faculties offer a wide range of undergraduate courses, leading to a Diploma equivalent to a Bachelor of Arts or Sciences degree (Ptychio in Greek), after a minimum of four years of studies.


Web: http://en.uoa.gr//

Other Key Staff:

Klissouras VasillissProf. Vassilis Klissouras
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Prof. Maria Koskolou

KarteroliotisProf. Kostantinos Karteroliotis




eu flag tempusThis project has been funded with support from the European Commission. This website reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.